Leave a comment

Recipe: Drop Dead Fred Mud Pies (aka Whipple-friendly Brownies)

So it was a sad week when that B’stard Rik Mayall died. He was a treasure, child-like, sarcastic and evil… I like evil. I really related to him, I guess being an only child and being weird, weird is cool.

I suppose you think it’s pretty weird, don’t you Mike? Well, you’d be right. ‘Cause THAT’S the kind of guy I am, right? WEIRD. Which is why I go over people’s heads. A bit like an aeroplane! You think I’m an aeroplane, don’t you, Mike? Well, I’m not. – Rick (The Young Ones)
As many of my readers know, I am a huge fan of British TV mainly thanks to my family making me watch The Young Ones, The New Statesman and listening to 1980s rock/pop songs. Rik was my hero, my first internet name was The Peoples Poet. I remember watching Drop Dead Fred when I was child but didn’t really enjoy it until recently and its awesome and I always cry at the end!

Last night my housemates and I had a Rik-a-thon and watched Hooligans Island, the first episode of The Young Ones and of course, Drop Dead Fred. The best part of the movie was when Elizabeth and Fred make mud pies in the dining room. I’ve been researching brownie ideas this week and went “yep, making mud pies now” and whipped into the kitchen to create a whipple-friendly brownie. Success! So as usual, gluten-free, dairy-free and low-sugar.

So here’s to Rik, you are amazing and we’ll miss you RIP.

download

Drop Dead Fred Mud Pies

Drop Dead Fred Mud Pies

Drop Dead Fred Mud Pies

Prep time: 20mins – Cooking time: 30mins – Makes: 6

 1/2 cup light nuttelex melted

1/2 cup CSR LoGiCane Sugar (or 1 cup of brown sugar)

1 tbsp vanilla essence

2 eggs

1/2 GF plain flour

1/3 cup cocoa powder

1/4 tsp GF baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 xanthan gum

50g 85% dark chocolate finely chopped

1/2 cup of walnuts chopped

optional: shredded coconut for topping

 

Heat the oven to that magical number of 180 degrees Celsius. Grease/line a muffin tray and put some of the walnuts in each muffin tin.

In a small saucepan melt the nuttelex and allow to cool. Or if you prefer the evil microwave, melt the nuttelex using microwave magic.

Mix all the dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl and then stir in the vanilla, two eggs (I did try and use egg-replacement stuff to make vegan versions of this, but I wasn’t a fan sorry Vegans) and the now-room temp nuttelex and stir quickly.

The mixture should be spongy yet a little runny too. Place a heaped tbsp of mixture on top of each muffin tin, ensuring the nuts are covered. Top each one with shredded coconut, cornflakes, vodka, lentils.. whatever you want as long as you’re not a fascist pig!

 

Bake for 25 – 30mins until the brownies spring back when lightly pushed down by your finger and/or the skewer comes out a little dirty 😉

Allow to cool, because being cool is Rik’s thing.

216469-668ba754-f032-11e3-8da8-726202433ee0

 

Pass them around to your friends at the next Doc-Marten-wearing-Anarchy-Poetry-night and bask in the glory of Drop Dead Fred.

After all, you wouldn’t want Thatcher to win…..

would you?

 

Bloody hippie

 

 

Leave a comment